Yunus Social Business Centre (YSBC) at National Central University(NCU) promotes actively international exchanges between South Asian social enterprises

National Central University
Yunus Social Business Centre (YSBC) at National Central University(NCU) promotes actively international exchanges between South Asian social enterprises

Country:Bangladesh、Thailand、Nepal Partner:Asian Institute of Technology、Daffodil International University Type of Cooperation: Overseas Internship Since:2017

Case Feature

  • hrough the international network of colleges and universities, YSBC connects with the local enterprises to promote collaboration and overseas internships.
Training course at the Yunus Social Business Centre in Asian Institute of Technology in Thailand

In order to cultivate outstanding talents in the fields of business management and social sciences, and to cooperate with the new southward development, YSBC of NCU has led a total of 58 students to Bangladesh, Thailand, Nepal and other countries for internships from 2017 to 2020. Through the international network of colleges and universities, YSBC connects with the local enterprises to promote collaboration and overseas internships.

 

Before departure, students need to participate in training courses to gain basic knowledge, and visit local enterprises under the lead from professionals and NCU teachers. For example,students visited the Grameen Bank in the village of Bangladesh to learn about the actual operation of this organization. Also, through the interview with local residents, students learned how Grameen Bank can improve people’s lives through microloans without collateral.

 

Take the intership experience in 2019 in Nepal as an example, students were divided into two groups, respectively “Bihani Social Venture”, which focused on the senior issues, and “Play Nepal”, which focused on sports education for children. This internship in two enterprises took a half-month. Also, during the holidays, students visited Ms. Fulmaya, a social entrepreneur who opened the “Bhattidanda Fresh & Natural Guesthouse” in the suburb of Kathmandu.

 

Bihani is a social enterprise focusing on seniority issues. The students and the internship unit visited nursing institutions together, and used their body language and facial expressions to overcome language barriers. They took the elderly to experience writing Spring Festival couplets and singing, and they also participated in the operation of Bihani. NCU students filmed a video advocating the elderly should not be a group of people forgotten by the society, and helped the design of members’ birthday short videos and posters for future events.

 

“Play Nepal” is a new social enterprise dedicates to the promotion of sports education for children. NCU students visited schools in community to explore the physical education in Nepal. At the same time, they shot an exquisite video for the intern unit, checked the operation status of the Facebook fan page, made a health check report and designed multiple posters to promote Play Nepal’s concepts and goals.

 

During the two weeks, students gained valuable experience and inspiration, and brought this internship to propose the innovative proposal of social enterprise in the second semester. A master student majoring in department of BA at NCU, Ms. Guo Ting Rong who went to Bangladesh in January 2020 for internship said: “After this trip to Bangladesh, after listening to the encouragement from the doctor, I learned that I used to think that I wanted to do something, that there should be a large-scale planning, a business model that others did not expect, and a very innovative one. Ideas; but the doctor said it makes sense that nothing can be reached at a glance, and any evolution today starts with small things or just wants to get better. We should look around us. If there is anything I think can be better of be improved, these will be the priority to start. Every little thing starts from the ordinary thing. Always remind ourselves this! ”

 

Due to the impact of COVID-19 from mid-2020 to 2021, YSBC postponed temporarily the visits to other countries for international internship exchanges, and prepared a response policy. Currently, we have cooperated with the University of Dakka and the Daffodil International University in Bangladesh. In the second half of this year, we will match students from these two universities to form a multinational student team, combine our USR resources to implement international topics, communicate online, and hope to lead the students again to the local area to witness the project results when the epidemic slows down in the future.

Group photo at Daffodil International University in Bangladesh
Met with Dr. Yunus at Yunus Social Business Centre in Bangladesh

回饋表單




Feedback

國立中央大學尤努斯社會企業中心 新南向國家社會企業實習

國立中央大學
國立中央大學尤努斯社會企業中心 新南向國家社會企業實習

合作國家:孟加拉、泰國、尼泊爾 合作學校:泰國亞洲理工學院、孟加拉水仙國際大學 交流形式: 海外實習 交流開始年份:2017

交流亮點

  • 透過尤努斯中心的國際大專院校網絡,連結在地社會企業,進而促成合作與推動海外實習
於泰國亞洲理工學院尤努斯中心參與培訓課程

國立中央大學於2014年與孟加拉尤努斯總部締約合作在中央大學成立「尤努斯社會企業研究中心」,為培育商管及社會科學領域之優秀人才,並配合我國新南向發展趨勢,本校尤努斯社會企業中心2017年至2020年間,帶領本校約58名學生赴孟加拉、泰國、尼泊爾等國進行實習交流。透過尤努斯中心的國際大專院校網絡,連結在地社會企業,進而促成合作與推動海外實習。

 

行前學生需參加培訓課程獲得先備知識,並在師長及單位專人的帶領下走訪當地社會企業,例如到訪孟加拉位在郊區鄉村的鄉村銀行(Grameen Bank)據點,了解機構實際於當地運作之情形,並透過與當地居民深入訪談,了解鄉村銀行如何透過無需抵押物的小額貸款,改善人們生活。

 

實習的學習內容以2019年為期半月的尼泊爾社企海外實習為例,學生分成兩組,分別至關注樂齡議題的「Bihani Social Venture」,以及聚焦於學童運動教育議題的「Play Nepal」等兩家社會企業進行為期半月的實習,並在假日拜訪在加德滿都近郊布利克爾山城開設「Bhattidanda Fresh & Natural Guesthouse」民宿的社會企業創業家Fulmaya女士,實地了解他們如何扭轉鄉村女童普遍無法獲得教育資源的現況。

 

Bihani是一家關注樂齡議題的社會企業,學生們與實習單位一同走訪收容照護機構,透過肢體與表情跨過語言不通的障礙,帶者長者體驗寫春聯、唱歌,同時也實際參與Bihani的運作,學生們籌拍一支影片倡議老年不應是被社會遺忘的一群人,並協助設計會員慶生短片以及未來活動的宣傳海報等。

 

Play Nepal則是一家致力於推廣學童運動教育的新創社會企業,學生們實地走訪社區學校探訪尼泊爾的體能教育,同時為實習單位拍攝了一支精美的形象影片、診察facebook粉絲專頁營運狀況並產出一份健檢報告書,以及設計多張海報針對Play Nepal的理念與目標進行宣傳。

 

在這兩週中,學生獲得無價的經驗與啟發,並帶著這趟深刻的實習於第二學期提出創新的社企商業模式提案。企管系碩士班郭庭榕表示經過這次孟加拉之旅,聽了博士給我們的鼓勵後,了解到:曾經我也覺得想要做點甚麼,覺得應該要很有規模的規劃,要有別人沒想到的商業模式,要有非常創新的點子;但博士說的很有道理,沒有甚麼事是可以一蹴可及,今天的任何演進都是從小事情創新或是只是想要變得更好開始的。我們應該看看身邊,有甚麼覺得是可以變得更好,或是改善的地方,這些都會是開始一件事,每個小事都是從平凡的事情開始,永遠提醒自己這一點!

 

2020年中至2021年因受全球COVID-19疫情影響,中心暫緩直接到訪他國的國際實習交流,並籌備因應方針。目前我們已與孟加拉達卡大學及水仙國際大學談妥合作,於今年下半年媒合兩校學生組成跨國學生團隊,結合本校USR資源執行國際專題,透過網路進行線上交流,並希冀在疫情趨緩的未來,帶領學生再度踏上當地,親眼見證專案成果。

與孟加拉水仙國際大學交流合影
於孟加拉尤努斯中心拜訪尤努斯博士

回饋表單




Feedback