National Central University-International Volunteering Group in South-East Asia

National Central University
NCU International Volunteering in South-East Asia

Country:Vietnam Partner:New Southbound Policy countries Type of Cooperation: Volunteer Group Since:2018

Case Feature

  • NCU International Volunteering in South-East Asia
NCU International Volunteering Group learned to use palm leaves and bamboo in Vietnam to build Dai-style toilets in 2019, creating changes with action!

National Central University (NCU) launched the International Volunteering Group program for the first time in 2008, hoping to cultivate the students’ humanistic care for the international society, to expand their horizon and to enhance the international reputation of NCU by participating in the international volunteer service. We hope students can learn from others while serving others, enrich themselves, and improve themselves by volunteering. Through volunteer service activities, NCU students who exert themselves assiduously after becoming independent, will be able to have an ample virtue and to carry the responsibility in social service.

 

This year is the 13th year since the establishment of the NCU International Volunteering Group, serving more than 10 countries. The number of new immigrants has been increasing annually in Taoyuan City, where NCU is located. With the “New Southbound Policy” of the government, NCU has cultivated an international volunteer group based in Southeast Asian countries, giving overseas Chinese or international students the opportunities to return to their hometown to serve and to feedback to the society.

 

In order to increase students’ participating attitudes in volunteering, to cultivate service skills and to build self-confidence, the Center for Service Learning planned for the group members a four-month domestic service in the Association of Taiwanese New Immigrants. In addition, Vietnamese language courses have been added to demonstrate the sincerity and dedication of the volunteer service; through a series of training courses, the members can explore their own interests. The most important of all is to learn how to respect, tolerate and love each other, and to make the service more complete.

 

Lin, Pay-Liam, the vice president for Student Affairs of NCU, stated that Vietnam is the most deeply influenced by Chinese culture in the history of Southeast Asian countries, and their eating habits are also similar with those of Chinese. We hope that the cultural exchange can not only stimulate student’s global perspective, but also enhance their sense of self-identity and curiosity for new knowledge.

 

In 2018, the first group of volunteers from NCU headed for Sa Dec City of South Vietnam, which is considered as the largest flower origin in the Mekong Delta, famous for the flower farmers who are good at planting flowers. NCU volunteer members worked with local volunteers to carry out the planting and the maintenance work of the flower fields as the focus of service. Also, they cleaned up the cluttered branches and beautified the community. NCU students also led the local children to participate in the group activities to cultivate good interpersonal relationships and a spirit of mutual cooperation. Furthermore, NCU students also exchanged their experience with the local government and volunteer groups. The discussions were about the sustainable tourism and the development of local tourism, hoping to construct a sustainable flower eco-tourism.

 

In 2019, the NCU International Volunteering Group cooperated with the Association of Vision Youth Action to provide services in rural areas in Vietnam. The theme of the service was “Cultivation of Children and the Development of Eco-Village in Mai Châu District of Vietnam”. Due to the poverty of the Dai people, most residents don’t have toilets. Thus, the volunteers launched a plan to build household toilets, hoping to improve basic hygiene, and to make the absence of toilets becoming a story of the previous generation. Moreover, the volunteers planned many English learning courses and activities for local children and teenagers, which can enhance their English learning opportunities and effectiveness at the same time. They also collected some second-hand clothes to give the local villagers as a final piece of the puzzle for the realization of this project.

 

Zhu You-Ci, a junior of the Department of Information Management, said that she was shocked by the local life and the different culture in her first experience of participating in international volunteering and it was a feeling that would only be known through personal experience. Yao Wen-Ling, a freshman of the Department of Business Administration and also an Oversea Chinese student, helped overcome language barriers, introduced local customs of Vietnam, and reduced service problems caused by language barriers. She said that there may not be much service to be done, but as long as she did her best, she would be worthy of the school’s support and encouragement for international volunteers. Hong Hua-Xiang, a freshman of the Department of Electrical Engineering, shared that during the volunteering service, they could distribute the resources to the people who truly need it. And it was also a rare opportunity to share the Taiwanese culture with the villagers and to learn the attitude of the simple life from the villagers. Yeh Jun-Yi, the freshman of the Department of Hakka Studies, said through the services, we were creating changes and leading the village to improve the sanitation environment, which is not only a challenge to him, but also a promise to the villagers.

 

In recent years, due to the epidemic of the COVID-19, NCU International Volunteering Group has temporarily slowed down, but still striving to accumulate the experience by domestic multicultural services and by international exchange. When the world reopens, we will go southward again. We will take Taiwanese students to start the service and bring overseas Chinese or international students back to their hometowns to serve and give back to the society.

Volunteer helps local residents to improve basic construction.
NCU Volunteer group interact with local children and students via games, music and dance to immerse into a life without national boundaries.

回饋表單




Feedback

國立中央大學-讓心飛「越」幸福 中大國際志工南向服務學習

國立中央大學
讓心飛「越」幸福 中大國際志工南向服務學習

合作國家:越南 合作學校:新南向國家 交流形式: 海外志工 交流開始年份:2018

交流亮點

  • 中大國際志工南向服務學習
中大國際志工於2019年於越南學習用棕櫚葉、竹片蓋傣式廁所,以行動創造改變!

國立中央大學於2008年首度辦理國際志工海外服務計畫,希望藉由參與國際志工服務培養學生對國際社會之人文關懷、拓展國際視野並提高本校之國際聲譽;並且希望學生們能夠在服務他人的同時學習他人,充實自己,並且在服務中感受生活提升自己。透過志工服務活動,使「自強不息」的中大學子在能夠自立後,更能「厚德載物」地將力量用在社會服務工作上。

 

如今中大國際志工團隊成立已邁入第13個年頭,服務已超過10個國家。中央大學所處的桃園市,新住民人口數逐年增加,加上政府的「新南向」政策,學校秉持著回饋社會,近年來培養以東南亞國家為服務據點的國際志工團隊,給予僑生或國際生回到自己的家鄉服務回饋社會的機會。

 

為增加學生服務學習的參與態度,培養服務技能及自信心的建立,服務學習發展中心規劃安排團員於「台灣新住民萌芽協會」先行進行為期四個月的國內服務。另外,亦增加越南語課程,展現前進越南服務的誠意與用心;並透過一系列的培訓課程,從中發掘自己的興趣,最重要的是學會如何相互尊重、包容以及愛,並能讓服務內容更臻完整。

 

中央大學學務長林沛練表示,越南是東南亞國家中,歷史上受中國文化影響最深,且飲食習慣類似華人,希望以文化的交流能促進孩子們的國際觀之外,也能夠提升他們對於自我認同感,對於新知識產生好奇心。

 

2018年中大國際志工首發團來到地處南越,被視為湄公河三角洲的最大花卉產地,以盛產花卉、懂植栽的花農聞名,位在湄公河畔的 沙瀝市 ( Sa Dec City) 進行服務,內容主要是與當地志工一起進行常態「花田」種植養護工作為服務重點,清理雜亂的樹枝及美化社區,深入在地生活體驗;而學生也帶領當地學童以寓教於樂的團康活動,培養良好人際關係及互助合作精神。此外,團員也與當地政府及志工團體交流,討論的議題分別為永續旅遊及地方旅遊發展,希望可以透過當地的花卉生態觀光發展,建構計畫與就地輔導方式深化發展,建構永續觀光發展之生態旅遊模式。

 

2019年中央大學國際服務學習志工團隊與願景青年行動網協會合作,深入越南偏鄉服務,這次服務主題為「越南梅洲生態村發展暨兒童培力計畫」。當地傣族因生活貧乏,多數居民沒有廁所,志工們特發起蓋家戶廁所計畫,希望可以帶來基礎衛生生活的改善,讓沒有廁所成為上一代的故事!此外,也為當地學童及青少年規劃多元英語學習課程與活動,增進學員們英語學習機會與成效。志工們也募集二手衣物,實際帶給當地村民在生活上的一點協助,為實現這個計畫完成最後的一塊拼圖。

 

資管系三年級朱右慈表示,在第一次參與國際志工的經驗裡,看見了不同於以往的生活文化感到相當震撼,那是親身體驗才會知道的感受!越南僑生的企管系一年級姚文苓同學,協助克服語言障礙,深入介紹越南當地風俗民情,降低因語言隔閡所造成的服務困擾。她表示,也許服務能做的不多,但只要盡己所能做到最好,就無愧於學校對國際志工的支持與鼓勵。電機系一年級洪華襄分享,這段服務期間,能夠將資源適時地分配給最需要的人,除了獲取重要的資訊外,這也是難得的機會;可以分享在臺灣的生活和文化,也去學習村民們簡單生活的人生態度。客家系一年級葉君毅也說,以實際行動創造改變,帶領村落改善衛生環境,不僅是對自我的挑戰,也是對村民的承諾。

 

近年,因應疫情的關係,中央大學國際服務學習志工團隊暫緩了腳步,以國內的多元文化交流及服務國內偏鄉或弱勢族群的方向努力充實自己,累積經驗,當國際大門重新打開那天,中央大學國際服務學習志工團隊會再次南向.帶著僑生或國際生回到自己的家鄉服務回饋社會。

志工協助當地居民改善基礎設施
志工團隊透過遊戲、音樂及舞蹈,讓當地學童與本國學生融入無國界的生活

回饋表單




Feedback