NSYSU MEME: Fulfilling the Dream of an Experience Abroad with Rewarding Overseas Internships

National Sun Yat-sen University
NSYSU MEME: Fulfilling the Dream of an Experience Abroad with Rewarding Overseas Internships

Country:Japan and Indonesia School:Shizuoka Institute of Science and Technology (SIST) & Sriwijaya University (UNSRI) Cooperate Type: Overseas Research Program(Includes Exchange Students, Short-term Studies, and Internships) Start from:2014

Case Feature

  • Internship in Japanese Science Park: Improvement of Academic Knowledge and Participation in Educational Events
  • Enhancement of Academic Knowledge: Learning from the Japanese Walking Encyclopedia of Microelectromechanical Research
  • Besides Academic Knowledge: Creating Positive Attitudes and Developing Soft Skills
Wan-Rou Huang participated in academic seminars during her internship in Japan

To help Taiwanese students broaden the horizons, the Ministry of Education (MOE) has launched a series of scholarship programs since 2007 to encourage university students to study abroad or do internships at overseas institutions. The programs have helped many students realize their dreams of going abroad. Since 2016, Associate Prof. Wei-Chih Lin from NSYSU’s Department of Mechanical and Electro-Mechanical Engineering (MEME) has been actively participating in the “Pilot Overseas Internship Program,” one of the MOE’s scholarship programs, and leading students abroad. So far, Associate Prof. Lin has participated in the program for three years, which provided opportunities for his students to visit top research institutions and participate in research projects.

 

 

Internship in Japanese Science Park: Improvement of Academic Knowledge and Participation in Educational Events
Located in Tsukuba, a city in the south of Ibaraki Prefecture, National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS) is one of Japan’s top research institutions. With advanced equipment and a large number of international researchers, NIMS provides its scientists, engineers and scholars with a great and international environment to carry out their research. Associate Prof. Lin conducted his postdoctoral research there in the Smart Biomaterials Group led by Director Dr. Takao Aoyagi. In 2016, after discussing with Associate Prof. Mitsuhiro Ebara, a member of the Smart Biomaterials Group, Associate Prof. Lin applied for the Pilot Overseas Internship Program and received the grant. He selected two students to participate in the research of biomedical wound healing dressing at NIMS. Associate Prof. Lin mentioned, “At NIMS, there are many experts in biomaterial, and the team members led by Associate Prof. Ebara also have years of research experiences in polymer nanofibers. Through the internship at NIMS, students not only can use the most advanced equipment but understand the latest research finding of nanofibers in Japan.”

While pursuing his master’s degree in Mechanical and Electro-Mechanical Engineering at NSYSU, Mr. Pei-Hsuan Hung attended this three-month internship program and received Associate Prof. Ebara’s instruction on the experiment to create a capping membrane for dental treatment with synthesized biocompatible polymer materials. As there were other interns from different countries, Pei-Hsuan would regularly share his research progress with fellow interns in English. Pei-Hsuan also actively participated in many academic activities, including polymer seminars in neighboring conference centers, science experiments in nearby schools, and Tsukuba Science Festival. He dressed up as a “smart polymer ranger” at the Festival to help elementary students learn fundamental scientific knowledge in the forms of drama and performances. During the internship, Pei-Hsuan became friends with local graduate students and interns from different countries ever since. Pei-Hsuan recalled that before he attended this program, he only focused on his studies and showed little interest in other activities. Now, he has gained valuable experiences in his life and his research studies thanks to this overseas opportunity. “If I had stayed in the same laboratory throughout my time in graduate school, I would have surely strengthened the knowledge and skills in my research field, but I might not have got the chance to learn deeper and wider in different fields,” said Pei-Hsuan. “Before this internship, I’d rather choose to finish my master’s thesis and graduate earlier than spending time abroad. But after this experience in Japan, I realized that I should definitely choose to spend some time abroad doing an internship, even if I have to postpone my graduation!” Pei-Hsuan added with a smile.

Another student Wan-Rou Huang also participated in this internship program. She recalled that it was a great opportunity to learn the procedures and steps in doing experiments. It was helpful for her later when she entered graduate school in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at National Taiwan University. “Now, when I’m working on an experiment, I know what to do first. I don’t have to spend time learning the procedures as a fresh graduate student does,” Wan-Rou added. During her internship in Japan, Wan-Rou focused on researching nanofiber mesh’s effectiveness as a treatment for melanoma. After returning to Taiwan and with Pei-Hsuan Hung’s assistance, Wan-Rou studied the experiment data and published the findings in an international journal ranked as Q1 in Polymer, which also demonstrates the research accomplishments through cooperation between Taiwan and Japan. Wan-Rou actively took part in many academic activities during her internship. And having to communicate with others in English helped her improve her English ability greatly. Her excellent English ability later became a key factor that helped her get admitted into National Taiwan University’s graduate school – when she impressed the professors at the admission interview in English. Wan-Rou wrote an article on what she had learned during the journey and submitted it to the article contest on promoting the experience abroad held by the Ministry of Education, and she received the Honorable Mention Award.

 

 

Enhancement of Academic Knowledge: Learning from the Japanese Walking Encyclopedia of Microelectromechanical Research
As the students’ progress was evidenced in many aspects, Associate Prof. Lin became more confident in promoting the overseas internship program. After the first two students completed their internship programs, another five students joined the program and conducted their internship in the Shizuoka Institute of Science and Technology (SIST), where they learned from Prof. Kotsuchibashi. With assistance from SIST and NSYSU’s Office of International Affairs, all five students gained rewarding learning experiences. In addition to the time in SIST, Associate Prof. Lin also led two students to visit the Nishizawa Memorial Research Center of Tohoku University, where Director Prof. Esashi provided a thorough guide to the equipment and technologies in microelectronic chip manufacture and left a deep impression on the two students. 2 Previously, the students only saw Prof. Esashi’s name on research papers; in Japan, they met him in person and were lucky to learn from him. With an outstanding performance during the internship, Xing-Yu Du, one of the students on the internship, was able to get recommendation letters from Prof. Esashi and received acceptance from five top graduate schools in the US after graduating from NSYSU. Xing-Yu finally decided to continue his graduate studies in the microelectromechanical system at the University of Pennsylvania – a top university ranked the eighth in the US.

 

 

Besides Academic Knowledge: Creating Positive Attitudes and Developing Soft Skills
Introduced by the international graduate students in his laboratory, Associate Prof. Wei-Chih Lin had the chance to know Prof. Muhammad Abu Bakar Sidik, the Head of the Department of Electrical Engineering in Sriwijaya University (UNSRI). 3 To strengthen the academic cooperation between Taiwan and Indonesia, Associate Prof. Lin arranged the third internship program and led three students to visit the Center for Environmental Research at UNSRI for a short period. Associate Prof. Lin expects that through the exchange of information with scholars in the Southeast Asian countries, he can demonstrate his research findings abroad, attract more international students to study in Taiwan, and further the academic exchange between countries.

Zhi-Wei Yu, a graduate student in the Department of Mechanical and Electro-Mechanical Engineering (MEME) at NSYSU, attended the internship program to help students make nanofibrous filtration membranes using the electrospinning technique. Zhi-Wei recalled that during the internship, besides experiments and researches, the most important thing he learned is to express his opinions or ideas bravely. In Indonesia, though he sometimes encountered language barriers with the local people there, he realized that if he finds any issue or question without bringing it up because of fear, nobody would know how to help him. “In the past, I was not good at expressing myself, but through the experience of this internship, I realized even if I might feel embarrassed, I have to let people know what I think.” Zhi-Wei mentioned the realization is a huge change to his life. During the time in Indonesia, he was also deeply impressed by the Muslim culture. “As most people there are Muslim, every day when the prayer time comes, adhan will be broadcasted throughout the region from the mosques, and at this time all people will drop everything they are doing for praying. It might be hard for a Taiwanese to imagine the scene.” Through the internship opportunity, Zhi-Wei got to integrate into the local community and observe a completely different culture, which is also a very rewarding experience.

Associate Prof. Wei-Chih Lin has observed the progress and changes the students made and found it rewarding to see students continue to improve their abilities and knowledge, including academic performance, international experience, English ability, and personality. Associate Prof. Lin believes that each of these improvements is beneficial to students’ career. Now, Associate Prof. Lin plans to recruit more international students to mingle with local students and looks forward to arranging overseas internship programs for more students after the COVID-19 pandemic.

 

1 Since the 1960s, the Japanese government has planned to develop the “Tsukuba Science City” and established many national research and academic institutions there, such as the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK), International Institute for Integrative Sleep Medicine (WPI-IIIS), and the University of Tsukuba. In this city where research attitude prevails, the city government invites academic and research institutions to jointly hold the Tsukuba Science Festival every autumn to promote basic scientific knowledge to students of all ages. Continued for over 10 years, and with the media coverage, the Festival has become a well-known and major science event in Tsukuba. Pei-Hsuan Hung and Wan-Rou Huang, two students from NSYSU, were dressed in costumes similar to “Power Rangers” and acted as “smart polymer rangers” to help NIMS introduce the basic knowledge and applications of smart biomedical polymers. The creative performance was reported in local news, and the event leader Prof. Ebara was awarded the Honorary Citizenship accordingly.

2 The Nishizawa Memorial Research Center at Tohoku University was established in memory of Dr. Junichi Nishizawa, known as the Father of Japanese Microelectronics and the previous President of Tohoku University. Well-equipped like a mini-factory of semiconductor, the Center opens to researchers in the industry or academia to use the equipment. The operating budget comes from the cooperation projects with companies and the patent royalties from Dr. Junichi Nishizawa’s inventions. Previously learning from Dr. Nishizawa, Prof. Masayoshi Esashi is now a global authority in the microelectromechanical system and considered the pioneer researcher in the field. Prof. Esashi is currently the Director of The Nishizawa Memorial Research Center.

3 Sriwijaya University (UNSRI) is located in Palembang, Indonesia. As one of the major state universities in the country, UNSRI is awarded the “Level A” accreditation by the National Accreditation Board of Higher Education in Indonesia, as it focuses on the education of science and engineering, values the cooperation between industry and academia, and provides great research environment.

Pei-Hsuan Hung and Wan-Rou Huang performed as "Smart Polymer Ranger" in Tsukuba Science Festival
Students learned from Prof. Masayoshi Esashi

回饋表單




Scroll Up Feedback

國立中山大學-海外實習收穫滿滿 中山機電築夢踏實

國立中山大學
海外實習收穫滿滿 中山機電築夢踏實

合作國家:日本與印尼 合作學校:日本靜岡理工科大、印尼斯里維加亞大學 交流形式: 海外研修(含交換學生、短習研習、實習) 交流開始年份:2014

交流亮點

  • 前進日本的科學園區實習 增進學術專業和參與社會責任推動活動
  • 與號稱日本微機電研究教科書的教授交流
  • 從海外實習學習處事方式 改變想法、轉動人生
黃婉瑈於日本實習期間參與學術交流活動

為協助國內青年學子拓展國際視野,教育部自2007年起開辦學海計畫,鼓勵大專生赴國外機構實習,開辦至今已協助眾多學子一圓夢想,前往海外實習。中山大學機械與機電工程學系林韋至副教授,自2016年起積極參與「學海築夢」計畫,與學生一同赴海外實習,至今已參與過三屆的計畫,讓系上學生能夠有機會前往國際頂尖機構,參與研究計畫並開拓視野。

 

前進日本的科學園區實習 增進學術專業和參與社會責任推動活動
日本國立研究開發法人物質材料研究機構(NIMS)位於茨城縣南部的筑波市,距離東京約50公里,為日本國內頂尖的材料科學研究中心之一,中心除了擁有許多先進的研究設備外,國際化的研究氛圍也是中心的另外一項特色,中心所內聘任的研究學者有接近七成都為外國籍,並來自於不同的國家。中山大學機械與機電工程學系林韋至副教授曾於此進行博士後研究,參與了青柳隆夫主任的智慧型高分子生醫材料團隊。於2016年期間,林副教授與團隊中的成員荏原充宏副教授討論後,申請了學海築夢海外實習計畫,並選送兩位學生,洪培軒與黃婉瑈一同前往該機構實習,參與奈米生醫高分子敷料的相關研究計畫。林副教授提到,「該機構內擁有許多生醫材料方面的專家,荏原副教授團隊已擁有多年的高分子奈米纖維相關研究經驗,因此可以藉由實習的機會,除了讓學生能夠使用最新的設備外,也同時可以了解日本在奈米纖維方面的研究近況。」

研究生洪培軒憶到,在為期三個月的實習計畫中,荏原教授會指導他進行高分子合成牙齒療程再生膜材料的相關實驗,並定期以英文口頭報告的方式,與團隊其他成員交流研究成果。此外,洪同學在研究之餘,也積極參加了許多學術活動,如在鄰近會議中心舉辦的高分子研討會、至當地中小學協助學生進行科學實驗、以及參與筑波科學節的展覽活動,在展覽中也與團隊成員裝扮成智慧高分子戰士,利用劇情演出的方式,淺移默化的將基礎科學知識傳遞給小學生 註1。洪同學也表示因為參與活動的機會,也與當地的研究生和各國實習生有很多互動,進而結識了許多的異國朋友,並且一直到現在都會在臉書上有持續的互動。洪同學也提到在赴日實習以前,一直都只有專心在自身的研究上,「對於外界活動總是興趣缺缺」。然而,在經過這次的海外實習,參與國際研究計畫後,為他自己在專業研究上、以及人生層面上都帶來豐富的收穫。他認為如果沒有這次海外實習的經驗,唸碩士班都只待在同一個實驗室做研究,也許可以在專業上可以取得精進,但可能無法多方瞭解外界其他研究資訊的機會,拓展自己研究的廣度。回想起這段寶貴的異國實習經驗,洪培軒笑著說,「以前我認為,與其花時間出國,不如早點完成碩士論文、早點畢業,但真的去日本實習一趟之後,我發現,我寧願延畢,也要出國實習!」

另一位同行的學生黃婉瑈也補充到,在大學時期赴日實習,讓她提早了解許多做實驗的程序與步驟,對於她繼續進入台大機械研究所攻讀碩士學位有很大的幫助,在做實驗時腦中可以很快就有概念、知道該先做什麼步驟,「而不需要像新手一樣花時間摸索。」在日本實習時,黃婉瑈主要研究奈米纖維的藥物釋放功效,透過釋放的藥物抑制黑色素瘤細胞的增生。在學長洪培軒的協助下,回台後,將此項研究的實驗數據整理、撰寫,投稿至高分子領域排名Q1的國際期刊,讓此次台日合作的研究成果能於國際研究領域上展現。黃同學也提到,期間她也同樣的踴躍參與許多中心內舉辦的學術活動,在過程中有許多機會使用英語與人交流與溝通,讓她的外語能力大幅的提升,也幫助她在後來的升學面試,能夠從容地以英文和口試教授交流,獲得青睞與錄取。此外,黃婉瑈將滿載的海外實習收穫和經驗投稿於教育部,並榮獲教育部學海築夢心得佳作之殊榮。

 

與號稱日本微機電研究教科書的教授交流
看到第一屆學生在海外實習計畫中所獲得的成長與收穫,讓林副教授更有信心推動第二屆的實習計畫。在第一屆學生回校後的分享與宣傳後,第二屆的實習計畫成員由第一屆的兩位增加到五位,該次的實習主要合作對象為靜岡理工大學的小土橋副教授,在該校與國際處的協助下,每位學生也都表示收穫滿滿。實習期間,林副教授亦帶領兩位對微電子晶片製作有興趣的學生,前往東北大學參觀西澤研究中心,在中心主任江刺正喜教授的熱情的介紹下 註2,讓兩位同學留下深刻的印象,分別表示過程如做夢一般,以前只能在研究論文上看到作者的姓名,但是現在卻是活生生的出現在面前,並且親眼看到了許多只有在書本上才可以看到的設備與技術。而其中一位杜同學因為實習期間優良的表現,在大學畢業後,經由江刺教授的推薦,獲得了五所全美頂尖大學的入學許可,而最後選擇前往全美排名第八的賓州大學就讀研究所,繼續進行微機電領域的相關研究。

 

從海外實習學習處事方式 改變想法、轉動人生
經由實驗室內外籍研究生的引介,林副教授認識了印尼斯里維加亞大學(Sriwijaya University)電機系主任Muhammad Abu Bakar Sidik教授,為了加強台尼的雙邊交流,林副教授於2020年規劃了第三屆的學海築夢計畫,與三位學生共同前往斯里維加亞大學內的環境研究中心(Center for Environmental Research)進行為期一個月的短期實習。主要是希望除了與已開發中的國家合作外,也能與開發中的新南向國家有所交流,介紹台灣的研究成果到該國外,並且能夠吸引該國的學子來台就讀,加深兩國學校間的交流。

目前就讀中山大學機械與機電工程學系碩士班的實習成員余智暐同學,表示在林副教授的鼓勵下,前往科研能力相對較弱的印尼實習,希望能夠協助他們建立靜電紡絲技術製作奈米纖維水質過濾膜。余智暐回憶到,在這趟實習當中,在實驗與研究外,讓他收穫最深的是學習到要「勇於表達自己的意見和想法。」他解釋,在印尼時因為語言不通,他深深體會到,遇到問題如果因為害怕而沒有提出,則沒有人會知道自己需要什麼,旁人也不會知道該如何提供協助。「過去我不太擅長表達自己,但這次我學習到,就算會感到丟臉,也要勇於表達自己的意見和想法。」余同學表示,這個體會對他的人生來講,是一個很大的改變。除此以外,在印尼一個月的時光中,余智暐也對當地的禱告文化留下很深刻的印象。「當地人多數都是穆斯林,每天在禱告的時間到了,全城會撥放宣禮召喚,這時候當地人都會放下手邊的工作,進入禱告室祈禱,這對台灣人而言可能是很難想像的事情。」余智暐認為,透過在當地實習的機會,他能夠真正融入當地的生活,體會當地的風土民情,認識到截然不同的文化,對他來說也是一大收穫。

藉由海外實習的機會,林副教授觀察到學生們的成長與改變,也樂見學生經由這樣的經驗,不斷充實自己的能力與見識,不論是學術專業的進步、國際視野的拓展、語言能力的提升,或是處事方式與個性上的轉變等,相信各個面向都會對學生的生涯發展有所幫助。目前林副教授計畫為實驗室招收更多國際學生,讓本地生與國際生能互相交流,也期待在新冠疫情過後,繼續規劃學生海外實習計畫,讓更多學生有機會參與。

 

註1 自1960年代日本政府規劃在筑波境內成立「筑波科學城」,並陸續於筑波設立眾多國家級研究機關與學術機構,如宇宙航空研究開發機構(JAXA)、高能加速器研究機構(KEK)、睡眠研究中心、筑波大學等。在這座研究風氣盛行的城市,筑波市政府每年秋天皆會舉辦筑波科學節(Tsukuba Science festival),邀請學術單位和研究機構一同舉辦科學展覽,向各年齡層的學生推廣基礎科學研究。由於該活動已進行十年以上,在加上媒體的推波助瀾,筑波科學節已成為日本家喻戶曉的科普活動,也是每年該市著名的一大聖典。在2016年的科學節中,中山大學的洪培軒與黃婉瑈同學,以類似影劇「金剛戰士」的造型,扮演「智慧高分子戰士」(smart polymer ranger),協助物質材料研究機構向來自不同學校的中小學生,介紹智慧生醫高分子的基礎知識與相關應用。因為智慧高分子戰士的成功演出,吸引了媒體的大篇幅報導,荏原教授也因此獲得市長頒發榮譽市民的殊榮。

註2 東北大學西澤研究中心,是為了紀念日人稱為日本「半導體先生」的西澤潤一校長而創立的,整個中心的研究設備猶如一座小型的半導體工廠,相關研究設備開放給產、學、研人員使用,而運作經費則依靠企業的合作計畫,以及日本企業使用西澤潤一校長的發明專利授權金。江刺正喜教授師承西澤潤一校長,是目前微機電系統研究領域的全球權威,亦被日本學術界公認為微機電系統研究的開創者,目前擔任東北大學西澤研究中心主任。

註3 斯里維加亞大學位於印尼巨港(Palembang),是印尼的一所州立大學,榮獲印尼教育部國家高等教育認證委員會所頒發的A級認證,注重理工人才的培育與產學合作,亦提供優良的研究環境。

洪培軒與黃婉瑈於筑波科學節扮演「智慧高分子戰士」
實習學生向江刺正喜教授學習

回饋表單




Feedback