Bunkyo Gakuin College-Improving Language Skill and Business Capability

National Kaohsiung University of Hospitality and Tourism
Bunkyo Gakuin College-Improving Language Skill and Business Capability

Country:Japan Partner:Bunkyo Gakuin College Type of Cooperation: Overseas Research Program(Includes Exchange Students, Short-term Studies, and Internships) Since:2013

Case Feature

  • International-Friendly Campus for Improving Language
  • Integration with Practical Work for Experiencing Culture by Participation
  • Breaking the Boundary for Expanding International Perspective
International Student Activity - Ice Hockey Experience in Karuizawa

Bunkyo Gakuin University was founded in 1991 and is a girls’ school. Under the educational philosophy of independence and symbiosis, it aims to teach students to become contributors to society and implements energetic educational activities. This college has two campuses – one in Saitama Prefecture and Hongo Campus in Bunkyo Ward, Tokyo. At present, students in NKUHT are mainly arranged to study abroad in Bunkyo Ward, Tokyo. It is adjacent to the top university in Japan, the University of Tokyo, and consists of four departments and four institutes with about 5,000 students.

 

Since the National Kaohsiung University of Hospitality and Tourism signed an overseas training and internship program contract with Bunkyo Gakuin College in 2013, the two parties have been actively engaged in academic exchanges and cooperation activities. Every year, we and Bunkyo Gakuin College sign a mutual exchange study for 2 students for one year. Through a fair review system, students with excellent academic performance and Japanese proficiency are selected to go to the school and study in the foreign language department of the school, so that students have a variety of choices for foreign language learning, such as Spanish, French, Chinese, Korean, etc. Its courses include entry level courses and medium level courses. As for the Japanese language course, students are allowed to advance Japanese skills and to understand Japan’s development process, history and culture from a Japanese perspective. In addition to language learning, Japanese can also be applied to learn international management, international cooperation, international culture, English education and other diversified courses on campus. Therefore, the multi-language learning environment in this campus does not only attract many excellent international students to communicate with each other but also improves students’ language communication, listening capability and speaking capability, as well as interpersonal communication and interaction.

 

In addition to the regular professional courses, students need to participate in overseas practical work during the junior year to integrate theory and practical work, which help apply what they have learned. Students studying at this affiliated school in Japan are arranged for internships at Poem Café in Tokyo, where they are serving as waiter/waitress, interacting with customers, familiarizing themselves with various types of coffee beans, meals and dessert making. Especially in professional coffee shops, they can further focus themselves on various domains in the coffee industry, from coffee flavors, fine grinding, roasting degree, hand-punching methods, latte art, etc., gradually acquainting themselves with Japanese coffee culture.

 

In the workplace, especially the small shops hidden in the alleys and streets, there is great human warmth. The sincere communication between the shop employees and the customer is like the interaction between the old friends who have been acquainted for a long time. At work, they need to memorize the preferences of each guest, not only to make the guests feel at home but also to interact with more guests to learn the Japanese culture of hospitality. Over time, the guests also treat students like their friends. At the beginning, they may encounter problems due to lack of language adaptability or work knowledge, but the pressure in workplace makes people learn that they need to be competent. When interacting with customers, they may encounter unfamiliar Japanese or English words for requesting services. They need to learn from the setbacks and change. As for the work, colleagues and supervisors also patiently taught and assisted like teachers or friends. Under the friendly atmosphere in the shop, everyone attentively works together, and has achieved and learned something!

 

During the exchange in Japan, in addition to on-campus study and internships, students can experience various Japanese cultures in their free time, from flower arrangements, tea ceremony to religious festivals, and learn about the origins and traditional values of Japanese culture. In the various cultural experience activities or on-campus activities that the school specifically holds for international students, it is not only a chance to meet local culture and get closer to Japanese life, but also a chance to interact with international students from other countries. International students from all over the world speak in English and Japanese as common languages. Sincere interactions between friends make language not an obstacle, but a tool to help everyone get to know each other. In addition to making students from all over the world feel the sincere welcome and local enthusiasm, on campus, they can also bravely try and learn in all aspects. On the other hand, in the practical work experience, from the long-term relationship between colleagues and guests, students can improve their skills in every respect, such as the interaction with people, the serious and responsible attitude at work, the mutual cooperation between colleagues and the working spirit of craftsmanship. A full one-year internship will broaden students’ international horizons and enhance their adaptability to a multicultural society in the future.

International Student Activity –Religious Festival Ceremony (Carrying Mikoshi) Experience
Internship -Poem cafe

回饋表單




Feedback

高餐大聯手日本文京學院大學-語言精進與實務能力提升

國立高雄餐旅大學
日本文京學院大學-語言精進與實務能力提升

合作國家:日本 合作學校:文京學院大學 交流形式: 海外研修(含交換學生、短習研習、實習) 交流開始年份:2013

交流亮點

  • 國際友善校園學風,語言學習更上一層樓
  • 實務工作經驗融合,做中學親炙社會文化
  • 走出既有侷限框架,拓展國際學習新視野
國際生活動-輕井澤冰上曲棍球體驗

文京學院大學自1991年創立,係以女性為主學校,在自立與共生的教育理念下,培養學生成為社會有貢獻的人才實踐著充滿活力的教育活動。該校共有兩校區-埼玉縣及東京都文京區的本鄉校區,目前本校學生主要安排至東京都文京區期換留學,鄰近日本第一學府東京大學、四個學部及四研究所組成,合計約5,000名學生。

 

國立高雄餐旅大學自2013年與日本文京學院大學簽訂海外研修暨實習方案合約後,雙方積極進行學術交流合作活動,本校每年與文京學院大學簽訂2名學生互惠交換研修1年。透過公正審查機制甄選品學兼優及具備日語能力學生前往該校,並於該校外國語學部學習,因此學生在外語學習有多樣性的選擇,例如:西班牙文、法文、中文、韓文等多國語言,其課程分為初級及中級程度,而在日本語學習課程中,使學生在既有水準日語能力外,同時深化日本語的運用,以日本人的角度了解日本發展進程與其歷史文化。除了語言學習外,亦能應用日文學習國際經營、國際協力、國際文化、英語教育等校內多樣化課程。故該校多國語言學習文化的營造下,不僅吸引許多國外優秀學校學生在此互相交流,同時增進同學們的語言交流聽力、口說能力,以及人際關係間的交流及互動。

 

本校除了平日專業課程學習外,學生在大三海外研修期間需有實務工作經驗累積,結合理論與實務工作,以達到學以致用。在此日本姊妹校研修之學生安排在東京Poem Café實習,從外場服務、與客人間的應對進退、熟習各品項咖啡豆、餐點及甜點製作等細項全心投入的學習。尤其是在專業咖啡廳中,更能進一步的專注在咖啡領域中的各項專業知識,從咖啡品項、研磨顆粒細數、烘培度、手沖方式、拉花……等,逐漸沉浸在日本文化的咖啡世界裡。

 

在工作職場中,尤其是隱藏在巷弄街道中的小店馥郁著濃厚的人情味,店員與客人間誠摯的交流相處,如同熟識已久的老友互動,工作中要學會熟記每一位客人的喜好,不僅是讓客人們感到賓至如歸回到家的感覺外,並與更多客人互動接學習到日本文化的待客之道,時間久了,客人們也把學生當成像自己朋友般的對待。在最開始或許是語言適應能力或是工作知識的不足,但是職場的壓力讓人學會自己需要努力成長,在客人應對進退之間,遇到不會的日文單字或是英文需求的服務,都是必須從挫折中開始努力去學習與改變。在工作上,同事與主管更是亦師亦友的耐心教導與協助,進而在公司友善的凝聚力之下大家很用心地在一起工作,並有所收穫!

 

在日本交流期間,除了校內學習及實習工作外,學生仍可利用閒餘時間體驗各種豐富樣貌的日本文化,從花道、茶道到廟會祭典活動,認識日本文化的淵遠及傳統價值。在學校精心為留學生辦理的各項文化體驗活動或校內活動中,不僅是更進一步的接觸當地文化、貼近日本生活外,更是能與其他國家的留學生一起交流互動,來自各國的留學生們以英、日文交雜的共同語言,友情間誠摯的交流讓語言不是障礙,而成為了彼此間的加溫工具,協助彼此認識。除了讓各國學生感受到學校積極的歡迎與當地的熱情,在學校環境中,在各方面也都能放心大膽地去嘗試與學習。而另一方面,在實務工作經驗中,從同事與客人間長期相處之下,學生皆能感受到在公司的成長,從人與人間的相處、工作上的認真負責態度、同事間的互相合作和職人的工作精神等,完整一年的學習過程,開拓學生國際視野,增進未來多元文化社會之適應能力。

國際生活動-廟會祭典抬神轎體驗
實習工作-Poem cafe

回饋表單




Feedback